The John Brinckerhoff Jackson Book Prize

The John Brinckerhoff Jackson Book Prize is awarded to the author of a book published within the past three years on a subject pertaining to landscape studies. There are no restrictions with regard to period, topic, or author's nationality. Only books based on original research and those that break new ground in method or interpretation will be considered. The purpose of this prize is to reward contributors to the intellectual vitality of garden history and landscape studies. The jury considers each submission on the basis of its success in expanding the field to new areas or increasing knowledge within an existing branch of the discipline. It seeks to support authors with an ability to write for a general readership as well as for a scholarly audience.


Books published on a landscape-related subject during a three-year period ending in the current calendar year are eligible for consideration by the Awards Committee.

Publishers must send books by mail to each of the appointed jury members before May 1.  A cover letter should include a complete mailing address, phone number, and email address of the author(s).  To request the mailing addresses for the jury, please email the book prize jury chair, Elizabeth K. Meyer at and include "J.B. Jackson Book Prize Application" as the subject line.

Got it!

This website uses anonymous cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website.
By continuing to use this website, you agree to our use of analytical and performance tracking.
We do not sell or share any personally identifying information. More info