In the United States, most registration boards require a degree from an accredited professional degree program as a prerequisite for licensure. The National Architectural Accrediting Board (NAAB), which is the sole agency authorized to accredit professional degree programs in architecture offered by institutions with U.S. regional accreditation, recognizes three types of degrees: the Bachelor of Architecture, the Master of Architecture, and the Doctor of Architecture. A program may be granted an eight-year, three-year, or two-year term of accreditation, depending on the extent of its conformance with established educational standards.

Doctor of Architecture and Master of Architecture degree programs may require a preprofessional undergraduate degree in architecture for admission. However, the preprofessional degree is not, by itself, recognized as an accredited degree.

The University of Virginia School of Architecture offers the following NAAB-accredited degree programs:

M.Arch. Track I (Pre-Professional Degree plus 67 graduate credit hours)

M.Arch. Track II (Undergraduate Degree in architecture plus 102 graduate credit hours)

Next accreditation visit: 2023

Useful additional accreditation information can be found in the links below.