Congratulations to Landscape Architecture Assistant Professor Zaneta Hong for being named a MacDowell Art Fellow.

Every year, the MacDowell Colony's prestigious arts fellowship welcomes more than 300 artists from across the U.S. and worldwide to produce original works. Out of 978 applications, a diverse group of 84 artists were awarded $10,000 MacDowell Fellowships for a summer residency.

Located in a remote environment in Peterborough, New Hampshire, the MacDowell Colony offers the peace and quiet that many artists need when working on something new. During their stay, the fellows work in a private studio for a period of up to eight weeks. 

Among the MacDowell Fellows for this summer are Pulitzer Prize-winning author Andrew Sean Greer, poet Monica Youn, filmmakers João Rui Guerra da Mata and João Pedro Rodrigues, visual artist Mary Lum, architects Bryony Roberts, Maxi Spina, and Archinect's Anthony Morey, to name just a few. This year's fellows come from 18 U.S. states and six countries, and 56 percent of them are women.

“Time and again artists have told us a MacDowell residency provides the clarity of mind needed to make art. The pull of distractions and the frenetic pace of everyday life make that kind of focus difficult,” MacDowell Colony Executive Director Cheryl A. Young said in a statement. “This group of artists will have the advantage of the long summer days as well as a chance to meet some great artists in other disciplines. A long walk to the studio or in impromptu conversation can lead to discoveries that might not otherwise come to be.”

Find the full list of fellows below.

ARCHITECTS AND LANDSCAPE ARCHITECTS: Zaneta Hong, Anthony Morey, Bryony Roberts, Maxi Spina, Hans Tursack, and Andrew Witt 

COMPOSERS: Ingrid Arauco, Mark Dresser, Michael Fiday, Mikel Kuehn, Grace McLean, Laura Schwendinger, and Kate Soper

FILMMAKERS: Cecilia Aldarondo, Zia Anger, Kanu Behl, João Rui Guerra da Mata, Christopher Harris, Jenni Olson, João Pedro Rodrigues, Jonathan Schwartz, Fern Silva, J.P. Sniadecki, Julia Solomonoff, Brett Story, and Jennifer Taylor 

INTERDISCIPLINARY ARTISTS: Carmina Escobar, John Kelly, and Helina Metaferia

THEATRE ARTISTS: Rinde Eckert, Morgan Gould, Blake Hackler, Sukari Jones, Cordelia Lynn, Ellen McLaughlin, Brian Selznick, Rebecca Taichman, and James Tyler

VISUAL ARTISTS: Nayland Blake, Julia Bland, Dawn Clements, Liz Collins, Adriana Farmiga, Annette Lawrence, Tod Lippy, Mary Lum, Tanya Marcuse, Kambui Olujimi, Clifford Owens, and Michael Stamm

POETS: Dexter Booth, Jesús Castillo, Eduardo Corral, Peter Gizzi, Solmaz Sharif, Kara Wang, and Monica Youn

NONFICTION WRITERS: Philip Clark, Katrina Dodson, Wil Hylton, David Johnson, Pamela Newkirk, Ricardo Nuila, Mimi Pond, Lauren Sandler, Jia Tolentino, Jenna Wortham, and Joshua Yaffa

FICTION WRITERS: Ayobami Adebayo, Lesley Arimah, Kali Fajardo-Anstine, Andrew Greer, Stephen Kuusisto, Magogodi Makhene, Marina Petrova, Jayne Anne Phillips, Nell Stevens, João Tordo, LaToya Watkins, David Weiden, Sophie Yanow, Eley Williams, and Jung H Yun